LCP Element

Shane Getkate Logo
Shane Getkate Jersy

Shane Getkate

Team flagIRI32 yrs
batting styleAll Rounder
Ireland announce 15 member T20I and ODI squad for South Africa series

Abhishek Singh ∙ 30 June 2021

Ireland announce 15 member T20I and ODI squad for South Africa series

Ireland announced a 15 member squad each for the ODI and the T20I series against South Africa which begins in July. Both the teams would be led by Ireland’s regular skipper Andie Balbirnie. While the ODI squad sees the comeback of Curtis Campher after his recovery from injury, the T20I squad has got new faces like fast scoring Neil Rock and power-hitting batters in the form of William McClintock and Shane Getkate. Andrew White, Chairman of Men’s Selectors believes that the three ODIs are important for Ireland from the view of the World Cup Super League. According to him, the T20I team has been selected keeping in mind the T20 World Cup and the need to give exposure to young players before the World Cup. “The World Cup Super League series against South Africa represents our first such fixtures on home soil, and while a tough challenge awaits, we are confident the squad we have selected provides Graham Ford and Andrew Balbirnie with plenty of options,” White said in a press release of Cricket Ireland. “We’re delighted to welcome back Curtis Campher from injury – I know he’s raring to go after over a month out of the game,’ he added. White also underscored the importance of having experienced players in the squad. He said, “With the recent ODI retirement of Kevin O’Brien, the value of having the experience of William Porterfield in the set-up is as crucial as ever, and his recent form at inter-provincial level has demonstrated that he is still hungry to succeed.” Talking about the T20I squad, in particular, White praised the power hitters and called their induction into the national side as being purely based on merit and their performances in the Inter-Provincial 50 over and 20 over competitions domestically. “Shane Getkate returns to the squad after impressive displays this season. Not many players work harder at their game and he is a natural power-hitter – something that we need more of at this level,” White said. “Another player in the power-hitter mould who has earned his first senior call up is William McClintock. This year we have seen evidence of that potential – not just as a power-hitter, but he has played a number of intelligent innings and been one of the key reasons the North West Warriors have been successful this season. Ben White and Neil Rock also make the T20I squad on merit,” White mentioned. From the last tour of the Netherlands, the Irish players who have not made up the squad are Gareth Delany, David O'Halloran, Ben White, Stephen Doheny, Kevin O’Brien and Peter Chase. ODI squad • Andrew Balbirnie (captain), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Graham Kennedy, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Graeme McCarter, Barry McCarthy, William Porterfield, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young. T20I squad • Andrew Balbirnie (captain), Mark Adair, George Dockrell, Shane Getkate, Josh Little, Barry McCarthy, William McClintock, Kevin O’Brien, Neil Rock, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, Craig Young. South Africa tour of Ireland Schedule World Cup Super League ODI series • 11 July: Ireland v South Africa, 1st ODI (Malahide) • 13 July: Ireland v South Africa, 2nd ODI (Malahide) • 16 July: Ireland v South Africa, 3rd ODI (Malahide) T20I series • 19 July: Ireland v South Africa, 1st T20I (Malahide) • 22 July: Ireland v South Africa, 2nd T20I (Stormont) • 24 July: Ireland v South Africa, 3rd T20I (Stormont)